DataStockroom
Business & finance

U.S. SBA Loan Market Cohorts

SBA 7(a) and 504 approval totals for fiscal years 2020–2025 by state, industry and status, with lender activity and underlying loan records.

Primary rows
143,903
Primary fields
12
Coverage
US
Source snapshot
Jun 30, 2026

Each primary row: One loan-program, fiscal-year, project-state, NAICS and reported-status combination.

Sample data

Download sample

100 sample rows as CSV · all 12 primary fields.

market_cohorts.csvPreview: 25 rows · 12 fields
Row
1
3dcecc452ca988e85f5e24f19c32f6bd602049d36151402269d87cf75aeff7b3
7A
2020
NC
CANCLD
561622
1
1
90000.00
1
1
1
2
ea4b378e915538b3ecc71fe74e01941e373894875148ef28681b29c2562085d2
7A
2025
NJ
CANCLD
423510
1
1
500000.00
1
3
1
3
68e28fd2f0f44b73a634d1761c606d946dd7880e2dee998bfa81baca358d0196
7A
2025
WI
EXEMPT
238160
3
3
141400.00
3
3
3
4
7a8c63eacfc786732c99687c7a522f6fe47894f61f8551d471fef143550cee30
7A
2021
VA
PIF
446110
1
1
100000.00
1
8
1
5
272e467783fff70fa43b6eb1c5288396371852f549902812c39f64529f992f76
7A
2020
MI
PIF
424490
1
1
72800.00
1
0
1
— Empty cell · does not mean zero or no[] / {} Empty collection0 / false Recorded values
Download sample documentation (ZIP)

Included data

  • 143,903 market cohorts include approval counts, exact monetary totals and the number of known values behind each total.
  • Lender and CDC activity is grouped separately across fiscal years, project states and loan statuses.
  • All 392,242 underlying approvals remain in loan_evidence.csv, including canceled statuses and counted duplicates.

What’s in the package

  • market_cohorts.csv143,903 rows · 12 fields
  • lender_activity.csv56,387 rows · 14 fields

    One program/fiscal-year/project-state/intermediary/status cohort.

  • loan_evidence.csv392,242 rows · 32 fields

    One captured approval record, including source duplicates and all statuses.

For borrower contacts, institution references and combined borrower/lender profiles, see SBA Loans, Borrowers & Lenders. The approval records overlap. View the related package →

Companion table fields

lender_activity.csv14 fields
FieldDefinition & format

Lender activity id

lender_activity_id

SHA-256 of compact JSON tuple: program, fiscal year, project state, intermediary key, role, status.

Type
text
Blank cells
Not reported, not applicable or unavailable
Populated · full table
56,387 / 56,387 (100.00%)

Program

program

Published program, 7A or 504.

Type
text
Blank cells
Not reported, not applicable or unavailable
Populated · full table
56,387 / 56,387 (100.00%)

Approval fiscal year

approval_fiscal_year

Approval fiscal year FY2020-FY2025.

Type
text
Blank cells
Not reported, not applicable or unavailable
Populated · full table
56,387 / 56,387 (100.00%)

Project state

project_state

Project state, distinct from borrower mailing state.

Type
text
Blank cells
Not reported, not applicable or unavailable
Populated · full table
56,387 / 56,387 (100.00%)

Loan status

loan_status

Reported status at source capture, distinct from approval-date status.

Type
text
Blank cells
Not reported, not applicable or unavailable
Populated · full table
56,387 / 56,387 (100.00%)

Intermediary key

intermediary_key

7(a) source lender group key, or 504 CDC location ID; absent CDC IDs use a stated name/address hash.

Type
text
Blank cells
Not reported, not applicable or unavailable
Populated · full table
56,387 / 56,387 (100.00%)

Intermediary role

intermediary_role

7a_lender or 504_cdc; CDCs are distinct from third-party banks.

Type
text
Blank cells
Not reported, not applicable or unavailable
Populated · full table
56,387 / 56,387 (100.00%)

Reported names json

reported_names_json

Sorted distinct source spellings of business intermediary names.

Type
text
Blank cells
Not reported, not applicable or unavailable
Populated · full table
56,387 / 56,387 (100.00%)

Loan record count

loan_record_count

Captured approval records including the separately identified status and source duplicates.

Type
integer
Blank cells
Not reported, not applicable or unavailable
Populated · full table
56,387 / 56,387 (100.00%)

Approvals with amount

approvals_with_amount

Number of records with a reported gross approval amount.

Type
integer
Unit
records
Blank cells
Not reported, not applicable or unavailable
Populated · full table
56,387 / 56,387 (100.00%)

Gross approval sum usd

gross_approval_sum_usd

Exact sum of reported gross approval amounts with cents preserved; blank when no amounts were reported.

Type
decimal
Unit
USD
Blank cells
Not reported, not applicable or unavailable
Populated · full table
56,387 / 56,387 (100.00%)

Approvals with jobs

approvals_with_jobs

Number of records with a reported jobs-supported value.

Type
integer
Unit
records
Blank cells
Not reported, not applicable or unavailable
Populated · full table
56,387 / 56,387 (100.00%)

Reported jobs sum

reported_jobs_sum

Sum of reported jobs supported across approvals; not unique workers, jobs created or current employment.

Type
decimal
Unit
reported jobs
Blank cells
Not reported, not applicable or unavailable
Populated · full table
56,387 / 56,387 (100.00%)

Distinct complete borrower address groups

distinct_complete_borrower_address_groups

Distinct complete source name/address groups; not verified legal entities.

Type
integer
Blank cells
Not reported, not applicable or unavailable
Populated · full table
56,387 / 56,387 (100.00%)
loan_evidence.csv32 fields
FieldDefinition & format

Loan id

loan_id

Program plus published source-record ID; source duplicates remain distinct.

Type
text
Blank cells
Not reported, not applicable or unavailable
Populated · full table
392,242 / 392,242 (100.00%)

Cohort id

cohort_id

SHA-256 of compact JSON tuple: program, fiscal year, project state, NAICS, status.

Type
text
Blank cells
Not reported, not applicable or unavailable
Populated · full table
392,242 / 392,242 (100.00%)

Lender activity id

lender_activity_id

SHA-256 of compact JSON tuple: program, fiscal year, project state, intermediary key, role, status.

Type
text
Blank cells
Not reported, not applicable or unavailable
Populated · full table
392,242 / 392,242 (100.00%)

Intermediary key

intermediary_key

7(a) source lender group key, or 504 CDC location ID; absent CDC IDs use a stated name/address hash.

Type
text
Blank cells
Not reported, not applicable or unavailable
Populated · full table
392,242 / 392,242 (100.00%)

Intermediary role

intermediary_role

7a_lender or 504_cdc; CDCs are distinct from third-party banks.

Type
text
Blank cells
Not reported, not applicable or unavailable
Populated · full table
392,242 / 392,242 (100.00%)

Intermediary name

intermediary_name

Reported 7(a) lender or 504 CDC name.

Type
text
Blank cells
Not reported, not applicable or unavailable
Populated · full table
392,242 / 392,242 (100.00%)

Source As Of Date

source_as_of_date

Source record snapshot date

Type
date
Format
YYYY-MM-DD
Blank cells
Missing or unavailable
Populated · full table
392,242 / 392,242 (100.00%)

Program

program

SBA program; 7A

Type
text
Format
UTF-8 text; source case retained
Blank cells
Missing or unavailable
Populated · full table
392,242 / 392,242 (100.00%)

Record ID

record_id

Source CSV SHA-256 plus data-row ordinal; not a persistent loan ID

Type
identifier
Format
Text identifier; preserve leading zeros and letters
Blank cells
Missing or unavailable
Populated · full table
392,242 / 392,242 (100.00%)

Borrower Name

borrower_name

Published borrower name

Type
text
Format
UTF-8 text; source case retained
Blank cells
Missing or unavailable
Populated · full table
392,242 / 392,242 (100.00%)

Borrower Address

borrower_address

Published borrower street address

Type
text
Format
UTF-8 text; source case retained
Blank cells
Missing or unavailable
Populated · full table
392,242 / 392,242 (100.00%)

Borrower City

borrower_city

Published borrower city

Type
text
Format
UTF-8 text; source case retained
Blank cells
Missing or unavailable
Populated · full table
392,242 / 392,242 (100.00%)

Borrower State

borrower_state

Published borrower state or territory

Type
state
Format
Two-letter state/territory code
Blank cells
Missing or unavailable
Populated · full table
392,242 / 392,242 (100.00%)

Borrower ZIP

borrower_zip

Published borrower ZIP, retained as text

Type
zip
Format
ZIP text: five digits or ZIP+4 where supplied
Blank cells
Missing or unavailable
Populated · full table
392,242 / 392,242 (100.00%)

Borrower Address Group ID

borrower_address_group_id

SHA-256 of normalized name/address combination, shared by 7(a) and 504 records; not a legal company identity

Type
identifier
Format
Text identifier; preserve leading zeros and letters
Blank cells
Missing or unavailable
Populated · full table
392,242 / 392,242 (100.00%)

Borrower Group Key Complete

borrower_group_key_complete

All five grouping fields present; incomplete records get individual row keys

Type
boolean
Format
true / false; blank is unknown
Blank cells
Missing or unavailable
Populated · full table
392,242 / 392,242 (100.00%)

Approval Date

approval_date

Published approval date used to select the requested fiscal or calendar period; not a disbursement date.

Type
date
Format
YYYY-MM-DD
Blank cells
Missing or unavailable
Populated · full table
392,242 / 392,242 (100.00%)

Approval Fiscal Year

approval_fiscal_year

SBA fiscal year; October through September

Type
integer
Format
YYYY; October 1 of the prior year through September 30
Unit
year
Blank cells
Missing or unavailable
Populated · full table
392,242 / 392,242 (100.00%)

Project State

project_state

Project state, not necessarily borrower mailing state

Type
state
Format
Two-letter state/territory code
Blank cells
Missing or unavailable
Populated · full table
392,242 / 392,242 (100.00%)

Project County

project_county

Project county, not necessarily borrower mailing county

Type
text
Format
UTF-8 text; source case retained
Blank cells
Missing or unavailable
Populated · full table
392,242 / 392,242 (100.00%)

NAICS Code

naics_code

Published NAICS identifier; source edition may contain different NAICS vintages

Type
identifier
Format
Text identifier; preserve leading zeros and letters
Blank cells
Missing or unavailable
Populated · full table
392,242 / 392,242 (100.00%)

NAICS Description

naics_description

Published industry description, not a new classification

Type
text
Format
UTF-8 text; source case retained
Blank cells
Missing or unavailable
Populated · full table
392,241 / 392,242 (100.00%)

Franchise Code

franchise_code

Published franchise code

Type
identifier
Format
Text identifier; preserve leading zeros and letters
Blank cells
Missing or unavailable
Populated · full table
44,990 / 392,242 (11.47%)

Franchise Name

franchise_name

Published franchise name

Type
text
Format
UTF-8 text; source case retained
Blank cells
Missing or unavailable
Populated · full table
44,839 / 392,242 (11.43%)

Business Type

business_type

Published borrower type; corporation, partnership or individual

Type
text
Format
UTF-8 text; source case retained
Blank cells
Missing or unavailable
Populated · full table
392,215 / 392,242 (99.99%)

Business Age Category

business_age_category

Reported categorical description, not an exact company age

Type
text
Format
UTF-8 text; source case retained
Blank cells
Missing or unavailable
Populated · full table
391,997 / 392,242 (99.94%)

Gross Approval USD

gross_approval_usd

Published total loan amount in USD; not cash available or revenue; source decimal precision retained, including disclosed fractions of a cent

Type
money_exact
Format
Exact source decimal precision; fractional cents retained
Unit
USD
Blank cells
Missing or unavailable
Populated · full table
392,242 / 392,242 (100.00%)

First Disbursement Date

first_disbursement_date

First disbursement date if disclosed

Type
date
Format
YYYY-MM-DD
Blank cells
Missing or unavailable
Populated · full table
328,919 / 392,242 (83.86%)

Loan Status

loan_status

Documented SBA status code; spaced letters are joined only when that forms a documented code, e.g. P I F becomes PIF

Type
text
Format
UTF-8 text; source case retained
Blank cells
Missing or unavailable
Populated · full table
392,242 / 392,242 (100.00%)

Loan Status Source

loan_status_source

Raw status label after whitespace cleanup

Type
text
Format
UTF-8 text; source case retained
Blank cells
Missing or unavailable
Populated · full table
392,242 / 392,242 (100.00%)

Jobs Supported Reported

jobs_supported_reported

Lender-reported jobs created plus retained; not verified by SBA

Type
integer
Format
Base-10 integer
Unit
reported jobs
Blank cells
Missing or unavailable
Populated · full table
392,242 / 392,242 (100.00%)

Identical Source Record Count

identical_source_record_count

Count of identical full source rows in this year, retained as separate records

Type
integer
Format
Base-10 integer
Unit
count
Blank cells
Missing or unavailable
Populated · full table
392,242 / 392,242 (100.00%)

Field coverage

Download field coverage (CSV)

Data notes

Coverage counts use the full tables. They exclude blank cells and empty JSON collections; zero and false count as populated.

  • Historical approvals do not establish disbursement, current business operations or creditworthiness. Statuses reflect the later source publication.
  • Reported jobs can overlap across approvals; totals are not unique employment or jobs created.
  • Borrower address groups and CDC name/address groups do not verify legal identities. Identical published records remain included.
  • This package has no place-contact enrichment. It summarizes the same fiscal-year loan population as the combined SBA package.