DataStockroom
Energy

U.S. Power Generators & Planned Projects

EIA planned power generators, monthly project status and capacity changes, with annual plant, utility and ownership reference tables.

Primary rows
2,316
Primary fields
44
Coverage
United States & Puerto Rico
Source snapshot
Oct 3, 2026

Each primary row: One planned generator within a plant in the August 2026 reporting edition.

Sample data

Download sample

100 sample rows as CSV · all 44 primary fields.

planned_generators.csvPreview: 25 rows · 44 fields
Row
1
2026-08:Planned:181
2026-08
Planned
181
201:4
807
Arkansas Electric Coop Corp
201
Thomas Fitzhugh
AR
Franklin
SWPP
Electric Utility
4
—
69.3
46.5
46.5
Natural Gas Fired Combustion Turbine
NG
GT
(TS) Construction complete, but not yet in commercial operation
2026
10
—
—
—
—
—
—
—
—
35.462382
-93.80493
—
—
—
—
—
—
—
—
—
—
2
2026-08:Planned:1898
2026-08
Planned
1898
70055:AA1
15399
Avangrid Power LLC
70055
Allen Acres Solar
IL
LaSalle
PJM
IPP Non-CHP
AA1
—
150
150
150
Solar Photovoltaic
SUN
PV
(P) Planned for installation, but regulatory approvals not initiated
2029
5
—
—
—
—
—
—
—
—
41.11792
-88.64038
—
—
—
—
—
—
—
—
—
—
3
2026-08:Planned:2101
2026-08
Planned
2101
58168:TURB5
58105
University of Redlands
58168
Energy Center
CA
San Bernardino
CISO
Commercial CHP
TURB5
—
0.3
0.3
0.3
Natural Gas Fired Combustion Turbine
NG
GT
(P) Planned for installation, but regulatory approvals not initiated
2030
12
—
—
—
—
—
—
—
—
34.063056
-117.1639
—
—
—
—
—
—
—
—
—
—
4
2026-08:Planned:78
2026-08
Planned
78
68410:BRAZ
66782
Brazoria Solar i, LLC
68410
Brazoria Solar I
TX
Brazoria
ERCO
IPP Non-CHP
BRAZ
—
125
125
125
Solar Photovoltaic
SUN
PV
(TS) Construction complete, but not yet in commercial operation
2026
9
—
—
—
—
—
—
—
—
29.138777
-95.37108
—
—
—
—
—
—
—
—
—
—
5
2026-08:Planned:301
2026-08
Planned
301
70027:CORT2
65677
Dimension Energy LLC
70027
Cortland CSG 2 LLC
NY
Cortland
NYIS
IPP Non-CHP
CORT2
—
5
5
5
Solar Photovoltaic
SUN
PV
(U) Under construction, less than or equal to 50 percent complete
2026
10
—
—
—
—
—
—
—
—
42.54409
-75.99276
—
—
—
—
—
—
—
—
—
—
— Empty cell · does not mean zero or no[] / {} Empty collection0 / false Recorded values
Download sample documentation (ZIP)

Included data

  • 2,316 planned generators include reported status, capacity, energy source and planned operation dates.
  • January–August 2026 history covers operating, planned, retired and canceled or postponed generators, with selected changes between consecutive reports.
  • Separate 2025 tables describe plants, utilities and jointly or third-party-owned generators. Modification schedules include reported uprates, derates and repowers.

What’s in the package

  • planned_generators.csv2,316 rows · 44 fields
  • generator_history.csv315,617 rows · 44 fields

    One reported generator within a reporting edition.

  • observed_changes.csv6,114 rows · 7 fields

    One changed field between consecutive monthly reports.

  • plants_2025.csv17,349 rows · 22 fields

    One published 2025 annual reference row; ownership table is jointly/third-party owned only.

  • utilities_2025.csv6,946 rows · 11 fields

    One published 2025 annual reference row; ownership table is jointly/third-party owned only.

  • owners_2025.csv5,680 rows · 15 fields

    One published 2025 annual reference row; ownership table is jointly/third-party owned only.

Companion table fields

generator_history.csv44 fields
FieldDefinition & format

Record ID

record_id

Reporting month, worksheet and physical Excel row; unique source-record identifier.

Type
text
Format
Derived as documented
Blank cells
Not reported, not applicable or unavailable
Populated · full table
315,617 / 315,617 (100.00%)

Report month

report_month

Monthly EIA reporting edition, YYYY-MM; not the acquisition date.

Type
text
Format
Derived as documented
Blank cells
Not reported, not applicable or unavailable
Populated · full table
315,617 / 315,617 (100.00%)

Source sheet

source_sheet

Worksheet identifying the generator status group in the monthly workbook.

Type
text
Format
Derived as documented
Blank cells
Not reported, not applicable or unavailable
Populated · full table
315,617 / 315,617 (100.00%)

Source row number

source_row_number

Physical Excel row number including title and header rows.

Type
text
Format
Derived as documented
Blank cells
Not reported, not applicable or unavailable
Populated · full table
315,617 / 315,617 (100.00%)

Generator key

generator_key

Exact published plant ID and generator ID; distinct from an owner or utility.

Type
text
Format
Derived as documented
Blank cells
Not reported, not applicable or unavailable
Populated · full table
315,605 / 315,617 (100.00%)

Entity ID

entity_id

EIA identifier of the reporting utility or entity.

Type
text
Blank cells
Not reported, not applicable or unavailable
Populated · full table
315,605 / 315,617 (100.00%)

Entity name

entity_name

Name of the reporting utility or entity.

Type
text
Blank cells
Not reported, not applicable or unavailable
Populated · full table
315,617 / 315,617 (100.00%)

Plant ID

plant_id

EIA plant code; combines with generator_id to identify a generator.

Type
text
Blank cells
Not reported, not applicable or unavailable
Populated · full table
315,605 / 315,617 (100.00%)

Plant name

plant_name

Name of the power plant.

Type
text
Blank cells
Not reported, not applicable or unavailable
Populated · full table
315,617 / 315,617 (100.00%)

Plant state

plant_state

State containing the plant.

Type
text
Blank cells
Not reported, not applicable or unavailable
Populated · full table
315,617 / 315,617 (100.00%)

County

county

County containing the plant.

Type
text
Blank cells
Not reported, not applicable or unavailable
Populated · full table
314,656 / 315,617 (99.70%)

Balancing authority code

balancing_authority_code

Code of the balancing authority responsible for the plant.

Type
text
Blank cells
Not reported, not applicable or unavailable
Populated · full table
297,592 / 315,617 (94.29%)

Sector

sector

EIA sector classification code.

Type
text
Blank cells
Not reported, not applicable or unavailable
Populated · full table
315,603 / 315,617 (100.00%)

Generator ID

generator_id

Generator identifier assigned within a plant.

Type
text
Blank cells
Not reported, not applicable or unavailable
Populated · full table
315,617 / 315,617 (100.00%)

Unit code

unit_code

Plant unit code grouping associated generator equipment.

Type
text
Blank cells
Not reported, not applicable or unavailable
Populated · full table
21,318 / 315,617 (6.75%)

Nameplate capacity MW

nameplate_capacity_mw

Manufacturer-rated generator capacity.

Type
decimal
Unit
MW
Blank cells
Not reported, not applicable or unavailable
Populated · full table
315,605 / 315,617 (100.00%)

Net summer capacity MW

net_summer_capacity_mw

Net summer capacity reported for the generator.

Type
decimal
Unit
MW
Blank cells
Not reported, not applicable or unavailable
Populated · full table
314,600 / 315,617 (99.68%)

Net winter capacity MW

net_winter_capacity_mw

Net winter capacity reported for the generator.

Type
decimal
Unit
MW
Blank cells
Not reported, not applicable or unavailable
Populated · full table
314,384 / 315,617 (99.61%)

Technology

technology

Reported generation or storage technology.

Type
text
Blank cells
Not reported, not applicable or unavailable
Populated · full table
315,612 / 315,617 (100.00%)

Energy source code

energy_source_code

EIA code for the generator’s energy source.

Type
text
Blank cells
Not reported, not applicable or unavailable
Populated · full table
315,612 / 315,617 (100.00%)

Prime mover code

prime_mover_code

EIA code for the engine, turbine or other prime mover.

Type
text
Blank cells
Not reported, not applicable or unavailable
Populated · full table
315,617 / 315,617 (100.00%)

Status

status

Generator status in this source edition; historical rows do not establish current status.

Type
text
Blank cells
Not reported, not applicable or unavailable
Populated · full table
243,832 / 315,617 (77.26%)

Planned operation year

planned_operation_year

Year of planned operation reported in this edition.

Type
text
Blank cells
Not reported, not applicable or unavailable
Populated · full table
17,796 / 315,617 (5.64%)

Planned operation month

planned_operation_month

Month of planned operation reported in this edition.

Type
text
Blank cells
Not reported, not applicable or unavailable
Populated · full table
17,796 / 315,617 (5.64%)

Operating year

operating_year

Year of operating reported in this edition.

Type
text
Blank cells
Not reported, not applicable or unavailable
Populated · full table
284,165 / 315,617 (90.03%)

Operating month

operating_month

Month of operating reported in this edition.

Type
text
Blank cells
Not reported, not applicable or unavailable
Populated · full table
284,165 / 315,617 (90.03%)

Retirement year

retirement_year

Year of retirement reported in this edition.

Type
text
Blank cells
Not reported, not applicable or unavailable
Populated · full table
58,132 / 315,617 (18.42%)

Retirement month

retirement_month

Month of retirement reported in this edition.

Type
text
Blank cells
Not reported, not applicable or unavailable
Populated · full table
58,132 / 315,617 (18.42%)

Planned retirement year

planned_retirement_year

Year of planned retirement reported in this edition.

Type
text
Blank cells
Not reported, not applicable or unavailable
Populated · full table
4,075 / 315,617 (1.29%)

Planned retirement month

planned_retirement_month

Month of planned retirement reported in this edition.

Type
text
Blank cells
Not reported, not applicable or unavailable
Populated · full table
4,026 / 315,617 (1.28%)

Nameplate energy capacity M Wh

nameplate_energy_capacity_mwh

Rated energy storage capacity; distinct from generator power capacity in MW.

Type
decimal
Unit
MWh
Blank cells
Not reported, not applicable or unavailable
Populated · full table
8,833 / 315,617 (2.80%)

Dc net capacity MW

dc_net_capacity_mw

Direct-current capacity reported for the generator.

Type
decimal
Unit
MW
Blank cells
Not reported, not applicable or unavailable
Populated · full table
63,046 / 315,617 (19.98%)

Latitude

latitude

Plant latitude as reported by EIA.

Type
text
Unit
decimal degrees
Blank cells
Not reported, not applicable or unavailable
Populated · full table
314,861 / 315,617 (99.76%)

Longitude

longitude

Plant longitude as reported by EIA.

Type
text
Unit
decimal degrees
Blank cells
Not reported, not applicable or unavailable
Populated · full table
314,836 / 315,617 (99.75%)

Planned derate year

planned_derate_year

Reported planned derate year in this monthly EIA edition; plans can change and are not proof that work occurred.

Type
text
Blank cells
Not reported, not applicable or unavailable
Populated · full table
17 / 315,617 (0.01%)

Planned derate month

planned_derate_month

Reported planned derate month in this monthly EIA edition; plans can change and are not proof that work occurred.

Type
text
Blank cells
Not reported, not applicable or unavailable
Populated · full table
14 / 315,617 (0.00%)

Planned derate summer capacity MW

planned_derate_summer_capacity_mw

Reported planned derate of summer capacity, preserved as published. This is a capacity change, not the generator total capacity.

Type
decimal
Unit
MW
Blank cells
Not reported, not applicable or unavailable
Populated · full table
101 / 315,617 (0.03%)

Planned uprate year

planned_uprate_year

Reported planned uprate year in this monthly EIA edition; plans can change and are not proof that work occurred.

Type
text
Blank cells
Not reported, not applicable or unavailable
Populated · full table
1,155 / 315,617 (0.37%)

Planned uprate month

planned_uprate_month

Reported planned uprate month in this monthly EIA edition; plans can change and are not proof that work occurred.

Type
text
Blank cells
Not reported, not applicable or unavailable
Populated · full table
1,149 / 315,617 (0.36%)

Planned uprate summer capacity MW

planned_uprate_summer_capacity_mw

Reported planned uprate of summer capacity, preserved as published. This is a capacity change, not the generator total capacity.

Type
decimal
Unit
MW
Blank cells
Not reported, not applicable or unavailable
Populated · full table
1,208 / 315,617 (0.38%)

Planned repower year

planned_repower_year

Reported planned repower year in this monthly EIA edition; plans can change and are not proof that work occurred.

Type
text
Blank cells
Not reported, not applicable or unavailable
Populated · full table
468 / 315,617 (0.15%)

Planned repower month

planned_repower_month

Reported planned repower month in this monthly EIA edition; plans can change and are not proof that work occurred.

Type
text
Blank cells
Not reported, not applicable or unavailable
Populated · full table
468 / 315,617 (0.15%)

Other modification year

other_modification_year

Reported other generator modification year in this monthly EIA edition; a reported plan, not a completed project.

Type
text
Blank cells
Not reported, not applicable or unavailable
Populated · full table
727 / 315,617 (0.23%)

Other modification month

other_modification_month

Reported other generator modification month in this monthly EIA edition; a reported plan, not a completed project.

Type
text
Blank cells
Not reported, not applicable or unavailable
Populated · full table
720 / 315,617 (0.23%)
observed_changes.csv7 fields
FieldDefinition & format

Change ID

change_id

Current record ID plus changed field.

Type
text
Format
Derived as documented
Blank cells
Not reported, not applicable or unavailable
Populated · full table
6,114 / 6,114 (100.00%)

Generator key

generator_key

Exact published plant ID and generator ID; distinct from an owner or utility.

Type
text
Format
Derived as documented
Blank cells
Not reported, not applicable or unavailable
Populated · full table
6,114 / 6,114 (100.00%)

Previous report month

previous_report_month

Prior consecutive captured reporting month.

Type
text
Format
Derived as documented
Blank cells
Not reported, not applicable or unavailable
Populated · full table
6,114 / 6,114 (100.00%)

Report month

report_month

Monthly EIA reporting edition, YYYY-MM; not the acquisition date.

Type
text
Format
Derived as documented
Blank cells
Not reported, not applicable or unavailable
Populated · full table
6,114 / 6,114 (100.00%)

Changed field

changed_field

Field whose reported value changed between consecutive editions.

Type
text
Format
Derived as documented
Blank cells
Not reported, not applicable or unavailable
Populated · full table
6,114 / 6,114 (100.00%)

Previous value

previous_value

Value in the preceding captured month, including original missingness.

Type
text
Format
Derived as documented
Blank cells
Not reported, not applicable or unavailable
Populated · full table
6,050 / 6,114 (98.95%)

Reported value

reported_value

Value in the current captured month, including original missingness.

Type
text
Format
Derived as documented
Blank cells
Not reported, not applicable or unavailable
Populated · full table
4,751 / 6,114 (77.71%)
plants_2025.csv22 fields
FieldDefinition & format

Source row number

source_row_number

Physical Excel row number including title and header rows.

Type
text
Format
Derived as documented
Blank cells
Not reported, not applicable or unavailable
Populated · full table
17,349 / 17,349 (100.00%)

Utility ID

utility_id

EIA utility identifier.

Type
text
Blank cells
Not reported, not applicable or unavailable
Populated · full table
17,349 / 17,349 (100.00%)

Utility name

utility_name

EIA utility name.

Type
text
Blank cells
Not reported, not applicable or unavailable
Populated · full table
17,349 / 17,349 (100.00%)

Plant ID

plant_id

EIA plant code; combines with generator_id to identify a generator.

Type
text
Blank cells
Not reported, not applicable or unavailable
Populated · full table
17,349 / 17,349 (100.00%)

Plant name

plant_name

Name of the power plant.

Type
text
Blank cells
Not reported, not applicable or unavailable
Populated · full table
17,349 / 17,349 (100.00%)

Street

street

Reporting entity or plant street address, according to the table.

Type
text
Blank cells
Not reported, not applicable or unavailable
Populated · full table
17,305 / 17,349 (99.75%)

City

city

City in the reference-table address.

Type
text
Blank cells
Not reported, not applicable or unavailable
Populated · full table
17,326 / 17,349 (99.87%)

State

state

State in the reference-table address.

Type
text
Blank cells
Not reported, not applicable or unavailable
Populated · full table
17,349 / 17,349 (100.00%)

ZIP

zip

Literal published Excel ZIP value; numeric source cells can omit leading zeros. No inferred ZIP is inserted.

Type
text
Blank cells
Not reported, not applicable or unavailable
Populated · full table
17,331 / 17,349 (99.90%)

County

county

County containing the plant.

Type
text
Blank cells
Not reported, not applicable or unavailable
Populated · full table
17,326 / 17,349 (99.87%)

Latitude

latitude

Plant latitude as reported by EIA.

Type
text
Unit
decimal degrees
Blank cells
Not reported, not applicable or unavailable
Populated · full table
17,321 / 17,349 (99.84%)

Longitude

longitude

Plant longitude as reported by EIA.

Type
text
Unit
decimal degrees
Blank cells
Not reported, not applicable or unavailable
Populated · full table
17,321 / 17,349 (99.84%)

NAICS

naics

NAICS code for the plant’s primary purpose.

Type
text
Blank cells
Not reported, not applicable or unavailable
Populated · full table
17,349 / 17,349 (100.00%)

Balancing authority code

balancing_authority_code

Code of the balancing authority responsible for the plant.

Type
text
Blank cells
Not reported, not applicable or unavailable
Populated · full table
17,081 / 17,349 (98.46%)

Balancing authority name

balancing_authority_name

Name of the balancing authority responsible for the plant.

Type
text
Blank cells
Not reported, not applicable or unavailable
Populated · full table
17,081 / 17,349 (98.46%)

Sector

sector

EIA sector classification code.

Type
text
Blank cells
Not reported, not applicable or unavailable
Populated · full table
17,349 / 17,349 (100.00%)

Sector name

sector_name

EIA sector classification name.

Type
text
Blank cells
Not reported, not applicable or unavailable
Populated · full table
17,349 / 17,349 (100.00%)

Energy storage

energy_storage

Reported indicator of energy storage at the plant.

Type
text
Blank cells
Not reported, not applicable or unavailable
Populated · full table
17,155 / 17,349 (98.88%)

Gas ldc

gas_ldc

Natural gas local distribution company serving the plant.

Type
text
Blank cells
Not reported, not applicable or unavailable
Populated · full table
1,547 / 17,349 (8.92%)

Gas pipeline 1

gas_pipeline_1

Reported natural gas pipeline serving the plant (source slot 1).

Type
text
Blank cells
Not reported, not applicable or unavailable
Populated · full table
1,476 / 17,349 (8.51%)

Gas pipeline 2

gas_pipeline_2

Reported natural gas pipeline serving the plant (source slot 2).

Type
text
Blank cells
Not reported, not applicable or unavailable
Populated · full table
232 / 17,349 (1.34%)

Gas pipeline 3

gas_pipeline_3

Reported natural gas pipeline serving the plant (source slot 3).

Type
text
Blank cells
Not reported, not applicable or unavailable
Populated · full table
59 / 17,349 (0.34%)
utilities_2025.csv11 fields
FieldDefinition & format

Source row number

source_row_number

Physical Excel row number including title and header rows.

Type
text
Format
Derived as documented
Blank cells
Not reported, not applicable or unavailable
Populated · full table
6,946 / 6,946 (100.00%)

Utility ID

utility_id

EIA utility identifier.

Type
text
Blank cells
Not reported, not applicable or unavailable
Populated · full table
6,946 / 6,946 (100.00%)

Utility name

utility_name

EIA utility name.

Type
text
Blank cells
Not reported, not applicable or unavailable
Populated · full table
6,946 / 6,946 (100.00%)

Street

street

Reporting entity or plant street address, according to the table.

Type
text
Blank cells
Not reported, not applicable or unavailable
Populated · full table
6,936 / 6,946 (99.86%)

City

city

City in the reference-table address.

Type
text
Blank cells
Not reported, not applicable or unavailable
Populated · full table
6,946 / 6,946 (100.00%)

State

state

State in the reference-table address.

Type
text
Blank cells
Not reported, not applicable or unavailable
Populated · full table
6,937 / 6,946 (99.87%)

ZIP

zip

Literal published Excel ZIP value; numeric source cells can omit leading zeros. No inferred ZIP is inserted.

Type
text
Blank cells
Not reported, not applicable or unavailable
Populated · full table
6,942 / 6,946 (99.94%)

Entity type

entity_type

EIA reporting entity classification.

Type
text
Blank cells
Not reported, not applicable or unavailable
Populated · full table
6,946 / 6,946 (100.00%)

Owns reported plants

owns_reported_plants

Reported flag for ownership of plants on the utility’s form.

Type
text
Blank cells
Not reported, not applicable or unavailable
Populated · full table
6,289 / 6,946 (90.54%)

Operates reported plants

operates_reported_plants

Reported flag for operation of plants on the utility’s form.

Type
text
Blank cells
Not reported, not applicable or unavailable
Populated · full table
3,096 / 6,946 (44.57%)

Manages reported plants

manages_reported_plants

Reported flag for asset management of plants on the utility’s form.

Type
text
Blank cells
Not reported, not applicable or unavailable
Populated · full table
1,997 / 6,946 (28.75%)
owners_2025.csv15 fields
FieldDefinition & format

Source row number

source_row_number

Physical Excel row number including title and header rows.

Type
text
Format
Derived as documented
Blank cells
Not reported, not applicable or unavailable
Populated · full table
5,680 / 5,680 (100.00%)

Utility ID

utility_id

EIA utility identifier.

Type
text
Blank cells
Not reported, not applicable or unavailable
Populated · full table
5,680 / 5,680 (100.00%)

Utility name

utility_name

EIA utility name.

Type
text
Blank cells
Not reported, not applicable or unavailable
Populated · full table
5,680 / 5,680 (100.00%)

Plant ID

plant_id

EIA plant code; combines with generator_id to identify a generator.

Type
text
Blank cells
Not reported, not applicable or unavailable
Populated · full table
5,680 / 5,680 (100.00%)

Plant name

plant_name

Name of the power plant.

Type
text
Blank cells
Not reported, not applicable or unavailable
Populated · full table
5,680 / 5,680 (100.00%)

State

state

State in the reference-table address.

Type
text
Blank cells
Not reported, not applicable or unavailable
Populated · full table
5,680 / 5,680 (100.00%)

Generator ID

generator_id

Generator identifier assigned within a plant.

Type
text
Blank cells
Not reported, not applicable or unavailable
Populated · full table
5,680 / 5,680 (100.00%)

Status

status

Generator status in this source edition; historical rows do not establish current status.

Type
text
Blank cells
Not reported, not applicable or unavailable
Populated · full table
5,680 / 5,680 (100.00%)

Owner name

owner_name

Name of the reported generator owner.

Type
text
Blank cells
Not reported, not applicable or unavailable
Populated · full table
5,680 / 5,680 (100.00%)

Owner street

owner_street

Street address of the reported owner.

Type
text
Blank cells
Not reported, not applicable or unavailable
Populated · full table
5,612 / 5,680 (98.80%)

Owner city

owner_city

City in the reported owner address.

Type
text
Blank cells
Not reported, not applicable or unavailable
Populated · full table
5,611 / 5,680 (98.79%)

Owner state

owner_state

State in the reported owner address.

Type
text
Blank cells
Not reported, not applicable or unavailable
Populated · full table
5,577 / 5,680 (98.19%)

Owner ZIP

owner_zip

Literal ZIP value in the owner address; numeric source cells may omit leading zeros.

Type
text
Blank cells
Not reported, not applicable or unavailable
Populated · full table
5,584 / 5,680 (98.31%)

Ownership ID

ownership_id

EIA identifier for the reported ownership entity.

Type
text
Blank cells
Not reported, not applicable or unavailable
Populated · full table
5,680 / 5,680 (100.00%)

Percent owned source fraction

percent_owned_source_fraction

Numeric Excel fraction stored under Percent Owned; 0.6 means 60%. Annual ownership lists jointly or third-party owned generators only.

Type
decimal
Unit
fraction
Blank cells
Not reported, not applicable or unavailable
Populated · full table
5,679 / 5,680 (99.98%)

Field coverage

Download field coverage (CSV)

Data notes

Coverage counts use the full tables. They exclude blank cells and empty JSON collections; zero and false count as populated.

  • Planned projects are reported intentions, not guaranteed builds. A first appearance or missing record does not prove project start or cancellation.
  • Annual ownership is dated separately and does not identify current owners for every planned unit.
  • Generator identifiers are unique within plants. Capacity in MW and stored energy in MWh describe different quantities.
  • Monthly fields describe their report month; reference fields describe 2025. Missing source values remain blank.